The World’s BEST carrot cake

September 1, 2010 § 9 Comments

Heaven’s to Betsy!  It’s been such a blurry blur around here that I simply forgot to mark that ever-so-important, that life-changing event, the first anniversary of my blog!  It was way back on August 24, and it just slipped by me unnoticed.  Okay, I’m not even sure who came up with the whole blogaversary idea (not to mention the, ahem, fascinating term…no offense meant if you happen to be the one who came up with it!), and it feels a little silly to me to celebrate the birthday/anniversary of a blog, after all it’s just a little website.  A platform for writing, photography, and other media.  But, in another way, a blog is almost a living thing; at least, it grows and changes and adapts as time passes and experience accumulates…And really I’m just trying to justify having a little party.  If it’s an excuse to celebrate, then it’s a good excuse in my book.  And I have just the thing!

My friends, I am happy to say that I happen to have a recipe for the World’s BEST carrot cake.  That’s not even a smug opinion.  It’s really just a plain old fact.  This carrot cake kicks sweet, flour-based, baked good butt!!!  It is so moist, so rich, so flavorful, other carrot cakes don’t stand a chance.  If pure gold were a food, instead of a hard and entirely not very good tasting metal, it would taste like this cake.  It’s so rich and delicious, it doesn’t even need cream cheese frosting.  But since when did need have anything to do with mind-bendingly good desserts?  So I include cream cheese frosting anyway.  And, then just to laugh in the face of anything resembling restraint, I sometimes serve some cognac-spiked whipped cream on the side.  Go big or go home, baby!  (Err, on special occasions.  Nutrition Emily says, “this is a treat, not an everyday food”…)

I originally got this recipe from a college friend, who got it from her grandmother (who, is a classic Jewish Grandma and is also the originator of the World’s Best Rugalach recipe).  I made it for my family for my youngest brother’s confirmation party, and was begged/forced, practically under the threat of disinheritance, to copy the recipe into my mom’s little recipe book immediately.  Since then, my mother has served it at every special event she hosts, and it has become famous across the entire town where my parents live.  This cake is so good, my dad, who usually couldn’t care less for cake, will look for excuses for it to be served, and will even eat leftovers of it for breakfast.  Which, by the way, I highly recommend.  It’s kind of a spectacularly sinful breakfast.

So, without further ado, in celebration of my blog’s blogoversary, I hereby pass the recipe on to you as well.  Use it wisely…

The World’s  Best Carrot Cake

  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 ½ cup vegetable oil
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 cups finely shredded/grated carrot
  • 8 oz. crushed pineapple, drained (1/2 cup, post draining)
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Lightly grease 9 in. round cake pan or a bundt pan.  I usually use a springform pan.
  3. Combine dry ingredients in a small bowl.
  4. Add oil, sugar and vanilla to eggs.  Beat well.  Stir in dry ingredients and mix well.  Stir in carrots, walnuts, and pineapple.  Scrape into the greased cake pan.
  5. Bake until cake springs back when pressed and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean (I cannot remember how long this actually takes, I just always go by testing, but I think it’s a bit over an hour).
  6. Let cool about 10 min.  Loosen edges with a knife and invert onto a plate, then place a serving platter over the cake and holding the cake between the plate and the serving platter, flip it again so that it is right side up on the serving dish.  Or if you are using a springform pan, just remove the outside.  If  desired (which, of course it is), allow to cool completely then frost with cream cheese frosting.  I usually cut the cake in half and spread the frosting in a layer on the bottom half, then put the top half back on, but leave that unfrosted and sprinkle it with powdered sugar to decorate before serving.  You could also just frost the top.  I don’t think it needs frosting on more than one layer though, unless you feel like popping from sheer richness.

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 1 package cream cheese, softened
  • 2 Tbs. butter, softened
  • ½ tsp. vanilla (this may actually be 3 ½ tsp., which is what I have written down, but that seems kind of high, so it’s probably ½)
  • about 1 cup powdered sugar
  1. Beat soft ingredients together with an electric mixer.  Beat in powdered sugar until desired consistency is reached.

 


Tagged: ,

§ 9 Responses to The World’s BEST carrot cake

  • Sarah Wylie says:

    Ahem! On behalf of said Jewish bubbie, I would like to credit Bryna Ringel. She would probably want me to mention that this cake makes a lovely Bundt but that the cream cheese frosting makes it non-kosher for meat meals (although I agree that it’s a delicious advance). Confirmations, birthdays, breakfasts – it’s also a great way to celebrate elopements. Congratulations!

    • Emily Kuross says:

      Hooray for Bryna Ringel!! It’s possible that someday I will erect a little shrine to her and her contribution to my “Jew food” repertoire :). And yes, hooray for carrot cake to celebrate elopements! Thank you for the congratulations!!

  • Judy Noonan says:

    I am definitely going to try this recipe..
    Looks delicious.

    Congratulations on your marriage.

    Best regards to you and Joel.
    Judy Noonan

  • Eileen says:

    I love your blog & your recipes, but tonight I especially love that you started this post with “Heavens to Betsy!” I thought I was the only young person to use that phrase. My husband says I have a little 80-year old woman inside of me.

    • Emily (Kuross) Vikre says:

      Haha. I think I may have a similar little 80-year old woman inside of me! I use all sorts of expressions that I think I’m not really supposed to legitimately be able to us unless I were several decades older.

  • Bryna Ringel says:

    I am Bryna Ringel!! Thanks for all your applause!! I’m celebrating my 83rd birthday tomorrow, and I still bake the carrot cake quite frequently, especially when my granddaughter , Sarah Wylie comes to visit me.

  • […] Carrot Cake (adapted slightly from Five and Spice) […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The World’s BEST carrot cake at Five And Spice.

meta

